How to Become A Delegate?

December 1, 2016

Do you want to become a delegate for the Leadership Convention in March? You can find more details about the process on our dedicated Delegate page or follow the steps below.

To find out when your constituency is having its Delegate Selection Meeting or to contact your constituency’s DRO, please click here.

Leadership Election Rules

August 28, 2016

Yesterday afternoon the Board of Directors met in Red Deer to approve the rules for the upcoming leadership election. They were formed by the Leadership Election Committee (LEC) who was tasked with ensuring a fair, open, honest and transparent process for all candidates.

With the rules now finalized, the Progressive Conservative Leadership Election is set to begin on October 1, 2016 with the official opening of nominations. Based on feedback from our membership to allow more time for the delegate selection meetings to occur and to allow candidates increased time to campaign, it was decided to shorten the nomination period and close candidate nominations on November 10, 2016.

I’m pleased with the work of the LEC and am confident that the approved rules will ensure a fair election for all candidates. We’re looking forward to a dynamic time in our party. The next six months are an opportunity to get Albertans engaged and excited about our province’s future. Reach out to your friends, your neighbours and get them engaged at every level.

In particular, the board agreed on the following:

  1. Each constituency association will elect 15 delegates on a single ballot, which will be allotted as follows:
    • Five of these must be members of the board of the constituency association (One youth and four non-youth).
    • Ten must be members in good standing of the constituency association (Two youth and eight non-youth).
  2. The entry requirements for candidates will include:
    • A $30,000 non-refundable candidate administration fee; and a $20,000 compliance bond;
    • 500 signatures from PCAA members, with 100 from each region (North, South, Central, Calgary, Edmonton); and
    • A disclosure report by each candidate of all pre-writ expenses and donations related to their leadership campaign.

These new rules along with the existing entry requirements will ensure a fair election for all candidates. This leadership is a unique opportunity for all members to help shape the future of the party.

Please check for the complete updated rules, which will be uploaded to our dedicated leadership election microsite in the coming days.

I’m proud to be a Progressive Conservative, and I look forward to all that is to come.


Katherine O’Neill
President, PC Alberta

Progressive Conservatives to Vote for New Leader March 18th.

July 1, 2016

The Progressive Conservative Association of Alberta (PCAA) will vote to elect a permanent leader on March 18th, 2017 in Calgary.

“Albertans have told us that our party needs to change and we have heard that message loud and clear. This leadership race will be an important step forward as we seek to regain the trust of Albertans,” PCAA President Katherine O’Neill said today after the party’s board voted to approve the leadership race details. “The election of a new leader will demonstrate that we are an open and transparent party. I invite all Albertans to participate in the process and take advantage of this unique opportunity to shape the future of the party.”

There will also be two leadership debates – the first in Red Deer at the 2016 Fall Policy Conference on November 5-6, and the second in Edmonton in early 2017. Leadership town hall meetings will also be held in Fort McMurray and Lethbridge, with other future venues to be determined.

The election will formally begin on October 1, 2016, with nominations closing on January 9, 2017. For details on preliminary entry requirements, all interested individuals are encouraged to visit the website at for details and updated information. The entire list of candidate entry requirements and the delegate selection process rules will be drafted over the summer and approved by the Progressive Conservative Party of Alberta board early this fall.

As a key component of the party’s commitment to change, the election of a permanent leader will occur through a delegated convention. Delegates will be elected at the local level, who will gather in Calgary on March 18 and in turn vote for the next leader of the party.

Leadership Election to Occur in 2017

June 5, 2016

Dear friends,

Earlier today, your Board of Directors met in Calgary to begin the process of selecting a permanent leader. I was excited by the conversation around the table and the passion of your Board members, as they worked diligently to find the most appropriate time for this important race. Guided by the will of our constituencies, we agreed that the election of a permanent leader will be held next Spring, before April 30, 2017. This timing will ensure our constituencies have the support they need as we shift to a delegated election and ensure that a Fall Policy Convention can proceed as scheduled. The election of a permanent leader is a critical step forward as we seek to regain the trust of Albertans. This is a unique and important opportunity for you to shape the future of the party and I encourage everyone to participate in the upcoming race.

The Board also appointed a Leadership Election Committee which will iron-out a final date and other details. They will report back on June 30 with a specific date that then needs to be ratified by the PC Board. The committee will be primarily responsible for ensuring an open, transparent and fair process for all candidates. Furthermore, the Board also agreed to strike a Leadership Convention and Debates Sub-Committee. This group will be responsible for organizing debates, events and activities associated with the convention itself.

The Leadership Election Committee will include the following individuals:

  • Chair – Katherine O’Neill
  • Chief Returning Officer – PENDING
  • Senior Advisor – Dave Hancock, Q.C.
  • Caucus Liaison – Richard Gotfried
  • Board Liaison – Patricia Wickstrom
  • Candidate Liaison – Karam-Ali Talakshi
  • Constituency Association Liaison – Kerry Doyle-Midler
  • Executive Director – Troy Wason
  • Youth Representative – Jessica Mitchell
  • Youth Representative – Cole Harbin
  • Communications Designate – PENDING

The Delegate Convention & Debates Subcommittee will included the following individuals:

  • Co-Chairs: Cynthia Williams and Krista Balsom
  • Youth Co-Chairs: Kyle Hoyda and Emily Gilroy

These committees have a great deal of work ahead of them and I invite you to pitch-in and become more involved with the process. Please refer back to our website in the future for more information, including the bios of the committee members.

Kind Regards,

Katherine O’Neill